‎11 communities named under IRCC’s Rural and Northern Immigration ‎Pilot

  • Home
  • Latest News
  • Language proficiency is the key to be selected as a skilled worker by Canada

The Government of Canada has named 11 Canadian communities that have been selected to take ‎part in its new Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot. ‎

The pilot is‏ ‏to help smaller rural and remote communities attract foreign workers of various skill ‎levels and provide them with permanent residence..‎
The pilot’s goal is to help these communities counter labour market shortages caused by declining ‎birth rates, rising retirement rates and the out-migration of youth to more populated areas of ‎Canada.‎
The 11 communities named on June 14 are located in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta ‎and British Columbia.‎
• Thunder Bay
• Sault Ste. Marie
• Sudbury
• Timmins
• North Bay
• Gretna-Rhineland-Altona-Plum Coulee
• Brandon
• Moose Jaw
• Claresholm
British Columbia
• West Kootenay
• Vernon
Each community will work with a local economic development organization to recruit and assess ‎immigration candidates based on local economic needs and job openings and endorse the ‎selected candidates for permanent residence.‎‏ ‏
The communities selected could be in a position to begin identifying immigration candidates as ‎early as this fall and those selected are expected to begin arriving in Canada 2020.‎