How NOC changes affect Express Entry candidates

What you need to know ahead of November 16, when IRCC switches to NOC 2021.

Canada’s immigration department will switch to the 2021 version of the NOC system on November 16, 2022, The new NOC will change eligibility for some of Canada’s immigration programs including Express Entry

Currently, in order to be eligible for Express Entry you need work experience that falls under NOC skill types 0, A, or B, which align with the NOC 2016. After the switch, (IRCC) will look to the new Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) system to determine work experience eligibility.

The following table shows how NOC 2016 skill types compare to TEER categories.

NOC 2016

NOC 2021

Skill Type 0


Skill Level A


Skill Level B


Skill Level B


Skill Level C


Skill Level D


Instructions for Express Entry candidates

The IRCC webpage offers instructions to Express Entry candidates in the pool, as well as those who have not submitted yet.

If you have already submitted your profile, but have not received an ITA, you need to update your profile on or after November 16, 2022. To do so, first search the on the (ESDC) website. After that, update you profile with your TEER Category and five-digit occupation code.

If you are planning to submit your Express Entry profile on or after November 16, you must find your occupation’s code on the and submit it when filling out your profile.

If you have received an ITA before November 16, you must submit your application using NOC 2016. There is no need to find out which new code corresponds with the one you already have.

Updated NOC 2021 eligibility criteria for Express Entry

Eligibility criteria

Canadian Experience Class

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Federal Skilled Trades Program

English or French skills

CLB 7 for TEER 0 or TEER 1 occupations; CLB 5 for TEER 2 or TEER 3 occupations


CLB 5 for speaking and listening; CLB 4 for reading and writing

Type/Level of work experience

Canadian work experience in an occupation listed in one or more of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3.

Work experience in an occupation listed in one of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3.

Work experience in a skilled trade under key groups of TEER 2 or TEER 3.*

Amount of work experience

One year in Canada in the last three years (either combination of full-time or part-time work).

One year continuous within the last 10 years (combination of part-time, full-time or more than one job in your primary occupation).

Two years within last five years (either combination of full-time or part-time work)

Job offer

Not required.

Not required but you can get selection criteria (FSW) points for having a valid job offer.

A valid job offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year or a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial or federal authority.


Not required.

Secondary education required. You can get more selection criteria (FSW) points for your post-secondary education.

Not required. 

Which occupations will be affected?

A total of 16 occupations will become eligible for Express Entry, and three will become ineligible, according to a previously-released .

The following occupations will become eligible under Express Entry starting November 16:

  • Payroll administrators;
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
  • Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates;
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
  • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants;
  • Sheriffs and bailiffs;
  • Correctional service officers;
  • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers;
  • Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations;
  • Residential and commercial installers and servicers;
  • Pest controllers and fumigators;
  • Other repairers and servicers;
  • Transport truck drivers;
  • Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators;
  • Heavy equipment operators; and
  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

The three occupations that will become ineligible include:

  • other performers;
  • program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport and fitness; and
  • tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.